Nurse Anaesthetists will be recognized in the field of anaesthesia for the significant contribution to health care in Jamaica and the English Speaking Caribbean Islands

1. The International Federation of Nurse Anaesthetists (IFNA):

IFNA was founded in Switzerland in 1989 with eleven national nurse anaesthesia organisations as charter members. The federation has continued to grow and currently there are 31 national nurse anaesthesia organisations as members, representing 40,000 nurse anaesthetists worldwide.

. The IFNA is governed by the Council of National Representatives (CNR).
. The IFNA has developed international standards that address education, practice    and code of ethics.
. The IFNA has established an Education and Research Foundation to promote nurse    anaesthesia, international research and educational    opportunities.
. IFNA sponsors a World Congress for Nurse Anaesthetists every four years.
. IFNA is an affiliate member of the International Council of Nurses (ICN)


2. The American Association of Nurse Anaesthetists (AANA):

The AANA was founded in 1931 and is the professional association representing Certified Registered Nurse Anaesthetists nationwide. Some of the Association’s ongoing activities include:

• Developing standards that ensure high quality anaesthesia care to safeguard patients.
• Facilitating the nurse anaesthesia education process and research.


3. The Caribbean Nurse Anaesthetist Association:

The Caribbean Nurse Anaesthetist Association (CNAA) is a regional organization of registered nurse anaesthetists. It came into being on September 29, 1996 in St. Vincent, as a result of the vision, determination and hard work of a small group of nurse anaesthetists who recognized the urgent need to standardize services and improve standards of practice, education and research in the Caribbean.

The purpose of the CNAA is to advance the standard of education, practice and patient care in the region, and to represent the general professional interest of its members in the region.


4. The Nursing Council of Jamaica:

The Nursing Council of Jamaica was established in 1951, proclaimed in 1952 and revised in 1955.  At present it is administered under the Nurses and Midwives Act 1964.  The Nursing Council was created through legislation and is responsible to the Government of Jamaica for its proper functioning.  It consist of 15 members, representing Registered Nurses, Enrolled Assistant Nurses and Midwives, and operates through its registrar. 

The Council sets minimum standards for entry to schools of nursing administering the qualifying examinations, and aims to ensure minimum quality of nursing care.  Its income is derive from registration fees, badges etc.

The main functions of the Council are:

    • To register nurses, to enroll assistant nurses and to register trained midwives.
    • To approve all institutions for the training of nurses, enrolled assistant nurses and midwives in Jamaica, to keep list of such institutions and to conduct the qualifying examinations.
    • To provide disciplinary measures as needed such as reprimand, suspension of license to practice and revocation of license to practice.
    • To exercise disciplinary powers over unqualified persons using the title of registered nurses and enrolled nurses as provided by law.

5. The Nurses Association of Jamaica (NAJ):

The NAJ came into being on July 19, 1946 as a result of the vision of a small group of nurses who recognized the urgent need to improve standards of nursing education and practice in Jamaica. The main objectives were:

(i) To achieve registration for nurses
(ii) Reciprocity of basic nursing education with the General Nursing Council of England and Wales
(iii) Recognition as a professional organisation for nurses in Jamaica, and
(iv) To address the socio-economic welfare of nurses.

Most of these objectives have been achieved and the association continues to address issues to improve the standard of practice and the socio-economic welfare of nurses in Jamaica.



6. The National Workers Union (NWU):

The NWU was founded on April 2, 1952 and has since grown into one of the major Trade Unions in Jamaica and the Caribbean. The NWU is a blanket Union, i.e. it covers all crafts, trades, industries, services etc. and has within its membership, a variety of workers in several industries, trades and services all over the island.

Locals are established within the organisation basis on location, department and/or occupational pursuit of the members. A local elects a chairman, Vice Chairman, a Secretary and a Management Committee of not less than six, but not more than thirteen. Locals are intended to afford the general membership participation in the general affairs of the Union.

The NWU is registered under the Trade Union Law Chapter 389 of the Laws of Jamaica. It derives funds from weekly dues paid by its membership. The basic function of the NWU is to negotiate collective labour agreements of contracts on behalf of its members, which set out wages, hours of work, rights and varying forms of job protection and security. The NWU also offers its membership, social services such as sick benefit and death grant.

The supreme authority of the NWU is its annual conference, which elects its officers,headed by the President and includes three Vice Presidents, a Financial Secretary, together with seven persons from among the delegates The General Secretary is the principal administrative officer. The major activity of the Union is education, by which it seeks to heighten the general awareness of its membership, train staff and equip delegates or worker representatives. The NWU is affiliated to a number of International Trade Unions.

Copyright 2008 JANA
All rights reserved.